As most of you know I go to stroller aerobics on base Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. So today... I drove to the gym as normal to find out class was cancelled. A pipe burst in the gym and all classes for the day were cancelled. So a bunch of girls and I decided to go to the track and run. Most of the class is also running the 5k on the 20th. Soooooo we walk over to the track, got the kids settled, did a five minute warmup walk, then started running.
I was running with my Ipod and at first it was really hard. I couldn't get my breathing under control and I couldn't get my stride down. The breathing is probably due to the years I wasted smoking. Everytime I run I regret every cigarette I've ever smoked. 3 miles at the track is 12 times around. Somewhere in there it started to feel a little easier. Then harder, then easier. Before I knew it I had 1 lap to go. Now technically the 5k is 3.1 miles. I decided that I was going to do another half a lap to get in the .1 mile. On the last lap, 3 miles down, .1 to go I'm running and I get to half the lap and realize I can keep going. So I do and in total I did 3.25 miles. WOOO HOOO! I ran 5k plus! I can't believe I did it. I could've cried I was so happy. Even now writing about it and rethinking it I can't believe I really did it. I'm a little in shock I think.
I'm so glad the girls were there with me. I mean, they get it you know? And they were in the moment with me. I need to say these girls are amazing. They are so encouraging and were truly proud and happy for me when I finished. A very special shout out to my friend Sara. She ran the whole thing with me right next to me. (In reality I probably slowed her down alot) I can't talk while I run but she was there anyway. At any point I could look over at her and she'd smile, or give me a thumbs up or count down the laps with me. Thank you Sara for helping me get through and accomplishing this milestone.
I'm so pumped up for my race! I can't wait. In exactly two weeks the race will be done. On to the next goal I guess. I'm all smiles today. :-)
No comments:
Post a Comment